Nature & archipelago

      The island of Lanzarote has 13 nature reserves. In the national park of Timanfaya and the Los Volcanes national park numerous volcanic cones and volcanic layers bear witness to the historical and geological influence of volcanic eruptions on the island. More than 41% of the island's surface has been declared a nature reserve.

      In 1993 Lanzarote was declared a biosphere reserve by UNESCO because of its valuable landscape and the species of animal and plant which are indigenous to the island, for example the blind albino cave crab which is found in the subterranean lagoon of Los Jameos del Agua.

      The small islands which surround Lanzarote are referred to as the 'Chinijo archipelago' or 'Chico archipelago'. They include the islands of La Graciosa, Montaña Clara, Alegranza, Roque del Este, Roque del Oeste or Roque Del Infierno and Islote de Lobos to the north of Lanzarote, opposite the neighbouring island of Fuerteventura. From Mirador del Rio in the north of the island there is an excellent view of the Chinijo archipelago.

      From this viewing point La Graciosa, which is separated by a narrow channel from the main island of Lanzarote, is the first visible island. As the only inhabited island of this small archipelago La Graciosa has an approximate size of 27 km², and fishing is the main occupation of its approx. 800 inhabitants.

      The islands of the Chinijo archipelago can be reached from the embarkation point of Orzola.